ETC Foundation Awards $60K in 2017 Scholarships

Home / News / ETC Foundation Awards $60K in 2017 Scholarships

During the scholarship award dinner for the sixth annual Edward Taylor Coombs Foundation Golf Outing, the Foundation distributed $60,000 in scholarships to 25 students, bringing the total amount of scholarships awarded the last six years to a whopping $360,000.

Scholarship recipients are:

Hatboro-Horsham High School

Hatboro-Horsham 2017 scholarship award winners are (from left) Brian Acquaviva, Michael Willison, Brynn Griffith and Megan O’Keefe. (Photo by Paul Coker Photography)

Brynn Griffith: $5,000 HH Scholarship

Michael Willison: $3,500 Scholarship

Megan O’Keefe: $2,500 Commonwealth Scholarship

Brian Acquaviva: $2,500 Scholarship

Kaitlyn Wallace: $1,000 Book Award

Daniella Slowak: $1,000 Book Award

Archbishop Wood High School

Johnny Mallozzi: $3,000 Edward Taylor Coombs Legacy Scholarship

Strath Haven High School

Emma Cormican: $4,000 Scholarship

Mary Kent: $4,000 Scholarship

Joe Shiba: $4,000 Scholarship

Claire Van Duyne: $4,000 Scholarship

Girard College

Reginald Morgan: $2,000 Scholarship

Sierra Walker: $2,000 Scholarship

Rashae Benbow: $500 Book Award

Stanton Hare: $500 Book Award

Satara Powell: $500 Book Award

Khiyyiel Smith: $500 Book Award

Sameese Smith: $500 Book Award

Jack & Jill Montgomery County, PA

Michael Gibson: $2,000 Scholarship

Alexi Capers: $1,500 Scholarship

Hunter Smith: $1,500 Scholarship

Jade Kemp: $1,000 Scholarship

Marist College Freshman Lacrosse Scholarship: $10,000

The Links, Montgomery County, PA Chapter: $1,000 Scholarship

Curtis Griffin, Hatboro-Horsham School District Superintendent, serves on the Foundation’s scholarship committee.

“When I reviewed the applications each year I’m always amazed at the quality of not just academics, but also giving back to the community,” Curtis said, adding that scholarship candidates and awardees are “absolutely impressive” and offer a good indication of “who our children are going to be.”

Johnny Mallozzi is the 2017 Edward Taylor Coombs Legacy Scholarship award winner. (Photo by Paul Coker Photography)

Johnny Mallozzi, a 2017 Archbishop Wood graduate, received the Edward Taylor Coombs Legacy Scholarship. Johnny, who plans to study business management at Cabrini College, knows the Coombs family from church and is an active Foundation volunteer.

Edward, who died when Johnny was 12 years old, had coached him in lacrosse.

“Everything they do for everybody else makes me want to do something good,” Johnny said of the Coombs family. “I love the family.”

Members of the ETC Foundation Scholarship Committee during the scholarship award dinner. (Photo by Paul Coker Photography)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *